Algorius Net Viewer Manual | Maps Server

General Information

Maps server allows the cooperative usage of network maps and provides the following possibilities:

  • Centralized storage of maps, images, device collections;
  • Automatic and manual refresh of maps, images and device collections among users;
  • Exchange between servers;
  • Synchronized map editing with an ability to capture map for editing, release map, fix and revert the changes;
  • It is shown who edits which map;
  • Backup maintenance for maps, images, device collections with the ability of automatic deletion after expiry of storage period.

User Scenarios

Following user scenarios for the cooperative map usage are possible:

  • Maps are stored in common folder and are not updated. All users open maps from the common folder. Advantage of this solution is its simplicity, disadvantage – common resource becomes a bottleneck – all users open maps from one place, traffic increases, locks become possible on map saving. This option is convenient for small companies, especially if all the users are sitting in one room.
  • Maps are stored in common folder. Application updates maps from this folder periodically or manually via shared resource or FTP(S). After editing local copy is saved automatically into the common folder via shared resource or FTP(S). This option is fine for middle-sized companies, especially if all the users reside in one building.
  • Each branch stores the maps of all branches in its common folder. Maps of other branches are updated periodically in this folder from other branches, e.g. via FTPS. Each branch’s users receive maps of all branches from local server.

Maps Update

Make the following to launch maps update: select ServerUpdate Maps in main menu. Maps Update window will open and the update will begin. Only those files are updated, which have the new modification time – it minimizes the traffic and fastens the update process up.

Maps Update window will show the source for maps update, folder for updated maps, added and replaced files, possible errors while reading/writing the files.

If update was launched automatically according to specified period, then Maps Update window is not displayed on a screen. It is replaced with corresponding hyperlink in status bar of main window. Thus you can update maps in background. Maps update window opens after clicking the hyperlink and shows the process of current update.

Edit Mode

With no regard if map is updated from server or not, it should be captured before editing. During a capture it is checked that a map is actual and isn’t locked by anyone. If a map is not actual, then application will propose to update it. If it is captured, then application will propose to recapture it. It is convenient if an employee who has captured a map is absent currently and it is required to edit a map urgently. If a map is being updated, then it is captured on server also and both copies are checked for being actual.

Changes are saved only locally, since it is faster and allows saving changes even if a maps server is temporarily unavailable. It also makes it possible to make a lot of modifications before presenting them to other users.

You should release or fix a map to make the changes visible for other users. After release a map is saved on a server and is marked as released. After fix a map is saved on a server and stays captured by you.

You can revert the changes, made after last capture or fix. During reverting current server version of a map is saved to local copy and map reopens. After reverting a map stays captured by you.

Configuring Maps Server

To configure Maps Server, select FileOptions from the main window menu, or press the Options button on the toolbar or press F9. The Options dialog box will appear. Select Maps Server tab:

It has the following elements:

  • Add — add new map source.
  • Edit — configure the selected map source.
  • Delete — delete the selected map source from the list.
  • Update periodically — if checked, application will automatically update maps from defined sources every specified time interval;
  • Backup updated files — if checked, application will create the backup copies of saved maps and all files, updated from maps server. You can specify the location for a catalog of backup copies for files being saved or updated.
  • Delete old backup copies — if checked, application will delete the backup copies which are older than defined amount of days. Clearing is performed after every update or save.

Configuring Maps Source

To configure the maps server, select ServerSettings in the main menu. Server Settings window will open. Click Add button on Maps Server tab. Maps Source window will open:

Select and configure the update source:

  • Update from shared folder — enter the location of the shared maps folder.
  • Update from FTP(S) folder — enter the ftp(s) maps folder location and FTP(S) server login (user name and password). Check Use SSL if you need the encryption. Check Passive mode if FTP(S) server can’t connect to your computer (e.g. if your computer is behind router of Firewall, blocking the external connections).

Select the local folder to save maps from specified source.

You can update the whole maps tree, device images and device collections.

You can update maps from shared folder which has read-only access and upload them to the same folder, but via FTP(S). Or you can update maps from FTP(S) folder using one authorization (e.g. anonymous one) and upload them into the same folder via FTP(S), but with another authorization. In these cases, you should specify the separate parameters of FTP(S) connection to upload the maps.

Server-to-Server Exchange

If your company consists of several branches and it is complicated to monitor the whole company from each branch or provide the single maps storage for all users, then it is recommended to configure the server-to-server exchange.

Overall it looks as follows: copy of maps of the whole organization is stored in each branch, and a server monitors the devices of its branch. Servers interchange with maps and monitoring results, providing this information to branch users.

Let’s check one of examples of server-to-server exchange of maps and monitoring results.

Let’s suppose that there are two branches: BranchA and BranchB.

Each of them has one server, ServerA and ServerB.

Maps folder is created on both servers.

This folder is shared within its branch on each server.

Directories BranchA and BranchB are created in this folder on each server.

Directory 'Maps\BranchA\' on ServerA opens by link 'ftps://ServerA/Maps/BranchA/'.

Directory 'Maps\BranchB\' on ServerB opens by link 'ftps://ServerB/Maps/BranchB/'.

Algorius Net Viewer is launched on each server.

Algorius Net Viewer is configured as follows on ServerA:

  • Monitoring results can be provided at URL http://ServerA/
  • Maps update is configured from 'ftps://ServerB/BranchB/' to local directory 'Maps\BranchB\'.
  • It is specified that monitoring result for maps in local directory 'Maps\BranchB\' is taken from http://ServerB/

Algorius Net Viewer is configured as follows on ServerB:

  • Monitoring results can be provided at URL http://ServerB/
  • Maps update is configured from 'ftps://ServerA/BranchA/' to local directory 'Maps\BranchA\'.
  • It is specified that monitoring result for maps in local directory '\\ServerB\Maps\BranchA\' is taken from http://ServerA/

Branch A users launch Algorius Net Viewer on their PCs with following settings:

  • Update maps from '\\ServerA\Maps\' to local directory Maps.
  • Get monitoring result for all maps in this local Maps directory from http://ServerA/

Branch B users launch Algorius Net Viewer on their PCs with following settings:

  • Update maps from '\\ServerB\Maps\' to local directory Maps.
  • Get monitoring result for all maps in this local Maps directory from http://ServerB/

It is supposed that users of each branch will edit maps of their branch only and have read-only access to other branches’ maps. If it is supposed to edit other branches’ maps, then update should be configured from initial sources. For example, if user from branch A wants to edit all maps, then his local directory 'Maps\BranchA\' should be updated from '\\ServerA\Maps\BranchA\', and directory 'Maps\BranchB\' should be updated from 'ftps://ServerB/Maps/BranchB/'.